Guest Reviews

Kati Byrne May 2019

We have just had the most wonderful family holiday at An Cos. The house is spacious, well-equipped and attractive inside, and has plenty of outdoor space, so it was possible for all 8 of us to find a bit of space for ourselves on occasion as well as fitting very comfortably into the common areas. At night there was no other sound but the owls. The cooking facilities and equipment were of a very high standard, so this definitely is a house for foodies – and there is artisanal bread to be had locally as well as two different salmon smokeries. The views from the main rooms alone are worth the trip; the village is a pleasant stroll away if you want company (and excellent home baking at the cafe), while in the other direction there is a walk through wood and heather to a tidal island. And if you are energetic, lost of wonderful places to visit, walk or climb. A perfect week – and Chrissy and Fiona even managed to arrange sunny, hot weather for us!

David Livingstone, April 2019

We stayed at An Cos for six nights in April 2019. It is a beautiful house, incredibly well appointed and beautifully comfortable, it is easily the best appointed house in the area. Uniquely An Cos manages to be both luxurious and completely relaxed at the same time which is what makes it so special. Just as importantly, Shieldaig is a wonderful place. Somewhat in the wilds but with a shop, pub and various restaurants within easy reach. With options to climb fish eat and walk it has more than enough there to keep you occupied. Visit Kishorn, Torridon and Diabaig for their beauty and good food, but you will never tire of the views from the house regardless. We have been to the area six times now and cannot recommend it highly enough.

Louise Macgregor, April 2019

We have been coming to An Cos since 2013 and it never disappoints. We absolutely love the house. Chrissy’s attention to detail is terrific: it feels like we are staying in a five star hotel but with all the comforts of home. The welcome from Fiona is always warm, genuine and friendly and nothing is ever too much bother. We use the house as a base for exploring Torridon. There are always Munros walked, sometimes tennis played, lots of walks to the Aird and great meals in the Shieldaig Coastal Bar or the Applecross Walled Garden. This time we discovered the Bealach Cafe and Gallery at Kishorn, which we’d thoroughly recommend. We leave An Cos with a feeling that our batteries have been charged and we always looking forward to our next trip. It has become an annual fixture in our calendar.

Sally (April 2019)

Wow! What a place! We have been to Sheildaig many times and always enjoyed staying in this fantastic little village, with its picturesque main street and wonderful cafe/pub. Little did we know that our holiday in Shieldaig could be even better with a stay in An Cos. It is a perfect holiday house, with everything you could ever need, and more. The house is extremely well stocked with kitchen utensils, outdoor furniture, crabbing kits… so much good stuff! The view is stunning and the location above the village is outstanding. We loved it.

McManus family (March 2019)

I must tell you how much we loved staying in your beautiful house. I can’t think of a single thing that wasn’t perfect, the village was lovely and friendly, Fiona was so helpful and the (grown up) kids, just loved the bar and, of course, Nanny’s. Even the weather was, for the most part, good, even sunny and warm for some of the time.

David Shaw

The Shaw Family. We would strongly endorse all that is written in these excellent guest reviews. The house is lovely and it accommodated all ten of us perfectly. Ideally located, it is splendidly equipped and with beautiful furniture and furnishings. The house-keeper, Fiona, could not have been more welcoming or more kind and helpful during our stay. Shielding is one of the gems of the north-west of Scotland. Its attraction for those on holiday is enhanced by Nanny’s cafe, the Coastal Kitchen and the village store. An Cos has our warmest recommendation.

Allan July ’18

This was my third time in An Cos though with a different group this time. The house, Chrissy’s organisation and Fiona’s care of the house were all excellent. The situation is superb with views over the bay and island with enough activity to keep one occupied. I go to An Cos with a different group of friends and family in August; this says it all. We walk and potter around, some checked out Nanny’s repeatedly, some kayaked; all had a wonderful time. We shall be back.

Alan Binnie, May 2018

From my first contact via the website, to leaving the keys at the end of our stay for Fiona, everything was smooth, efficient and welcoming. The house is beautiful and delightfully thought out for a group or family. We had 3 couples and 2 singles and the layout worked extremely well. Knowing the weather of Torridon, I picked the house as an insurance policy against the weather!! The house is so comfortable one could just curl up and watch the loch..fortunately the weather was superb and we were out every day. This is a five star house..welcoming afternoon tea/scones/smoked salmon..wonderful rooms/beds/sheets and underfloor heating throughout..The rooms also display lovely local art works and there is a very good range of games and books. The kitchen is superbly equipped…good local produce..and fish from the village. A great house and location to share with others as a special occasion. Alan Binnie

Jan Morris (Apr ’18)

An Cos is an amazing house in a phenomenal setting. There are not enough superlatives to describe the comfort, furnishings,equipment and sheer luxury of this house. Fiona’s welcome and her delicious scones and date and walnut bread are just what are needed on arrival and we enjoyed them and the welcome plate of smoked salmon delights from the local smokehouse. The area is rich with things to do and the resident sea eagles are a bonus to bird watchers and non birders alike. The Sheildeg Inn and Nannys right on the doorstep are both welcoming and a must to visit. Further afield The Torridon Inn, The Applecross Inn, Gille Brighde(Diabeg) Kishorn Seafood Bar are all superb. Attadale and Inverewe Gardens are also well worth a visit. The list of things to do is too huge for this review but really Sheildaig and An Cos are so lovely you don’t need to move anywhere.

Press Reviews

highland holiday cottage

"Sleepy Hollow"

Scotsman Magazine, January 2013

"...the ultimate Highland dream..."

Read more about An Cos in The Scotsman Magazine.