Guest Reviews

Ursula Green, August 2020

We experienced a wonderful week at An Cos where every measure possible had been taken to ensure the house was Covid-19 safety compliant. A truly lovely house with amazing views of Loch Shieldaig and it’s Island where the two sea eagles were seen daily, circling their habitat. There is so much to do and see in the area, from walking locally to an array of more challenging walks in the Torridon mountains. We enjoyed kayaking, a wild life boat trip and challenging cycling routes around the Applecross peninsula. Returning to the comforts of An Cos each evening was delightful and we all enjoyed cooking in the incredibly well equipped kitchen and then dining whilst enjoying the views and sunsets. All businesses that were open in Wester Ross proved to be very welcoming whilst also ensuring safety measures were respected. We are so very pleased we chose a stress free fabulous holiday in An Cos this summer over a holiday in Europe with all the inevitable unpredictability of travel arrangements. We will certainly return.

Hazel, Jan 2020

The weekend had everything that the Torridons could throw at us in terms of weather; yet the walking and scrambling in the area was magnificent, the best part was returning to our the beautiful accommodation each night with a warm fire, good wine and luxuroious surroundings. An Cos is a wonderful place, enough space for 9-10 of us and plenty room to breath. We have already booked next year…

Matchett family, October 2019

Having read the latest reviews, what more can I add? All the superlatives have been used up, and rightly so. We too, have enjoyed the joys and wonders of the wildlife and of the spirit lifting scenery in which An Cos sits. Who needs a yoga retreat when you can wonder through calming woodland and hug an ancient tree or two? The weather last week was utterly amazing, not just because it was sunny, enhancing the beauty of the autumn colours, and mild, (swimming!) and fabulous sunsets, but because the forecast had been torrentially terrible. So: never believe the forecasts! This glorious part of the highlands has very special memories for us and An Cos is THE perfect house to facilitate your own adventures. Don’t change a thing.

Hunter family, Sep 2019

In 20 years of holidays on the Scottish West coast this is the best place we have found. We have just booked for 2 weeks next year, I think that says it all.

Jeff Harrison & family Sep 2019

My family and I enjoyed a week-long stay at An Cos – our first 3-generation family holiday – and what a wonderful place for it! An Cos is a beautifully furnished and equipped house in a stunning location and kept spotlessly clean by Fiona the lovely housekeeper. Shieldaig has much to offer for such a small village – delicious seafood meals at the Coastal Kitchen; lovely breakfasts and light lunches at Nanny’s; it’s own smokery; a well stocked village shop; Mya’s authentic Thai curries from the village hall and superb bread, pasties, quiches and preserves from Peter of Little Swallow Foods – his artist wife Lisa’s studio (‘Blue Roof Studio’) is also well worth a visit. The 1.75 mile walk along the peninsula via the well-made track running along the back of the house is another great local feature, with fantastic views on both sides across Loch Shieldaig and across Loch Torridon to the Torridon mountains – we did it 3 times during the week and enjoyed a family picnic on one of the well placed benches. As a wildlife…

Caroline Bird, August 2019

An Cos is an extremely well appointed house with the most stunning views – ever changing – whatever the weather. The house is extremely well equipped, there was nothing we needed that wasn’t there, a good sized boot room a bonus and plenty of space for the 5 of us to spread out and 10 people would just as easily be accommodated. We loved being able to wander into Shieldaig and visit the pub, cafe and the shop was very handy and we always had a friendly welcome. There is plenty to do for all ages, tennis, loch swimming, fishing, kayaking, some fantastic walks and amazing scenery where ever you go to name just a few. We can highly recommend this property and hope to return some day.

Shaw Family (August 2019)

Our family holiday was a great success. The house was perfect, Fiona was her usual kind self, and everyone enjoyed themselves; so much so that there was a unanimous vote that we should return. I would be most grateful if you would book us in again for next year. Thank you for our splendid holiday.

Tait (Canada) July ’19

We had an awesome stay in your house…everyone loved it! It had just the right vibe and was so well equipped. It exceeded our expectations in every way. The weather was amazing as well. We even spent some nice time just relaxing and enjoying the house. The pub was awesome…we were in there quite a bit!  The little store was so handy and had all the last minute essentials we needed. It was great to explore the Torridon region. I have nothing but good things to say!! Thanks again…it was definitely a highlight of our trip!

Stark, July 2019

Beautiful house, spotlessly clean, with all the amenities needed, in a great location with views to match.

Press Reviews

highland holiday cottage

"Sleepy Hollow"

Scotsman Magazine, January 2013

"...the ultimate Highland dream..."

Read more about An Cos in The Scotsman Magazine.